The International Symposium on Compound Semiconductors is the venue for presentation of three prestigious prizes. The awards to be made are:

  • the Welker Award,
  • the Quantum Device Award,
  • the Young Scientist Award.

The recipients of all three Awards will be selected by the ISCS Award Committee. The Awards will be presented before the rump session at 4:15 pm on Tuesday 13th May 2014.

ISCS2014 awardees are:

  • Welker Award: Dr. Gerald Bastard, CNRS, Laboratoire Pierre Aigrain, Ecole Normale Supérieure, Paris, France.
  • Quantum Device Award: Prof. Connie Chang-Hasnain, University of California, Berkeley, USA.
  • Young Scientist Award: Prof. Huili (Grace) Xing, University of Notre-Dame, Indiana, USA.


The Welker Award was established in 1976 by Siemens AG in honor of Heinrich Welker, the pioneer in the field of III-V compound semiconductors. The award is now supported by Osram GmbH and given away for outstanding research in the area of III-V compound semiconductors.

The Quantum Device Award was initiated by Fujitsu Quantum Devices Ltd. in 2000, and is now sponsord by the Japanese section of the ISCS steering committee. The Award honors pioneering contributions to the field of compound semiconductor devices and quantum nanostructure devices which have made a major impact in the past two decades. New device concepts and structures, device physics and modeling as well as device realization and characterization are covered by the Award.

The Young Scientist Award is supported by the Symposium. Established in 1986, the Award acknowledges technical achievements in the field of compound semiconductors by a scientist younger than 40 years on the first day of the Symposium.

The ISCS2014 Award Committee was composed of: Oliver Ambacher, Yasuhiko Arakawa, Roberto Cingolani, James Coleman, Hoshiro Hirayama, Umesh Mishra, Henning Riechert, Klaus Streubel, Tom Tiedje, Claude Weisbuch, and Naoki Yokoyama.


Previous Recipients of the Welker Award


1976  Nick Holonyak, Jr 1978  Cyril Hilsum  1980  Hisayoshi Yanai
1981  Gerald L. Pearson 1982  Herbert Kroemer 1984  Izuo Hayashi
1985  Heinz Beneking 1986  A.Y. Cho 1987  Zhores I. Alferov
1988  Jerry M. Woodall 1989  Don W. Shaw 1990  Greg Stillman
1991  Lester F. Eastman 1992  Harry C. Gatos 1993  James Turner
1994  Federico Capasso 1995  Isamu Akasaki 1996  Ben G. Streetman
1997  M. George Craford 1998  Takashi Mimura 1999  Claude Weisbuch
2000  James S. Harris 2001  Karl Hess 2002  Hiroyuki Sakaki
2003  Klaus Ploog 2004  James J. Coleman 2005  Hans Melchior
2006  Marc Ilegems 2007  Kenichi Iga 2008  Gunter Weimann
2009  Daniel Dapkus 2010  Pallab Bhattacharya 2011  Yasuhiko Arakawa
2012  Umesh K. Mishra 2013  Tom Foxon 2014 Gerald Bastard


Previous Recipients of the Quantum Device Award

2000  Emilio E. Mendez and Gerald Bastard
2001  Leo P. Kouwenhoven, Mark A. Reed and Seigo Tarucha
2002  Yasuhiro Arakawa
2003  Pallab Bhattacharya
2004  Jean-Pierre Leburton
2005  Pierre Petroff
2006  Carlo Sirtori
2007  Umesh K.Mishra and James S.Speck
2008  Jean-Michel Gerard
2009  Joe Charles Campbell
2010  Chennupati Jagadish
2011  Alan C. Seabaugh
2012  David Gershoni
2013  Yoshiro Hirayama
2014 Connie Chang-Hasnain


Previous Recipients of the Young Scientist Award

1986 Russell D. Dupuis 1987  Naoki Yokoyama 1988  W.T. Tsang
1989  Russ Fischer  1990  Yasuhiko Arakawa 1991  Sandip Tiwari
1992  Umesh K. Mishra 1993  Kai Chang 1994  Michael A. Haase
1995 John D. Ralston 1996  Nikolai Ledentsov 1997  Fred Kish
1998  Steven P. Den Baars 1999  Jerome Faist 2000  Kohiki Mukai
2001 Masahiko Kondow 2002 Diane Huffaker 2003 Mike Larson
2004 Toshihide Kikkawa 2005 Nils Weimann 2006  Andrea Fiore
2007 Masataka Higashiwaki 2008 Jonathan J. Finley 2009  Seth R. Bank
2010  Tomás Palacios 2011 Yoshitaka Taniyasu 2012 Debdeep Jena
2013 Sanjay Krishna 2014 Huli (Grace) Xing  


The Best Student Paper Award was established recently for students who present their work as speakers or poster presenters. The awardee will be selected by members of the program committee among students who have officially applied upon registration before April 20th, 2014. We will have the ceremony in the closing session so that we strongly recommend the applicants to join the closing session on Thursday 15th May 2014.

The ISCS 2014 best student paper has been awarded to Ya Zhang, Institute for Industrial Sciences, The University of Tokyo.

Previous recipients of the Best Student Paper Award

2011  Georg Rossbach, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland
2012  Jordan Lang, University of California, Santa Barbara and Adam Scofield, University of California, Los Angeles
2013  Noelia Vico Triviño, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland
2014 Ya Zhang, The University of Tokyo, Japan


Legal Mentions | Logos | ©